KDrama Review: My Dearest

Title: My Dearest, Lovers

Episodes: 10

Genre: Historical, Drama, Romance, Melodrama, War

Story: 9 out of 10

Characters: 8 out of 10

Cinematography: 8 out of 10

Korean Drama My Dearest is an angsty and emotional love story

Poster of the Korean Drama My Dearest
Poster of the Korean Drama My Dearest

Story

Gil Chae is the 99-tailed fox of Neunggun-ri, as she can make any man fall for her, except from the nobleman she loves. And then mysterious Jang Hyun, a so-called player, appears, curious about her, confusing her about her own feelings. But once war starts, Gil Chae and Jang Hyun’s fates will tangle even more.

Korean Drama My Dearest is a melodrama full of emotions.

Escaping the typical historical romance stereotype, the drama introduces two flawed characters who are not true or even open about their own feelings, at a time when they will have to come face to face with the cruel reality of war and loss.

The love story, moreover, is full of angst and yearning, with an ending for the first season being the right one for it. Also, that type of love story made the few romantic moments even more intense and enjoyable, as well as tragic.

In addition, the period was portrayed in a cruel tone, with the brutality of war not being filtered through the romantic lences of a love story. Rather, the story isn’t afraid to sacrifice characters, or come to more tragic conclusions.

Poster of the Korean Drama My Dearest
Poster of the Korean Drama My Dearest

Characters

Gil Chae is a young noblewoman who is spoiled and enjoys manipulating those around her. She doesn’t take things too seriously, and she is selfish and childish.

Ahn Eun Jin gave a strong performance, with her character overdoing a drastic character development throughout the drama.

Watch Ahn Eun Jin’s other dramas KDrama The Good Bad Mother, KDrama The One and Only, KDrama Hospital Playlist 2, KDrama The Witch’s Diner, KDrama Dark Hole, KDrama Review: Strangers From Hell, KDrama My Fellow Citizens, and KDrama The Crowned Clown

Jang Hyun is a mysterious man with charisma and charm. Rumours follow him of being a playboy and dating around, thus, making him unlikable towards other noblemen.

Namkoong Min gave an emotional performance.

Watch Namkoong Min in his other drama KDrama Hot Stove League

Poster of the Korean Drama My Dearest
Poster of the Korean Drama My Dearest

Cinematography

The drama had beautiful cinematography and the perfect pace for the story.

Overall

My overall rating for the Korean Drama My Dearest is 9.5 out of 10. The drama offers a melodramatic love story.

Also, Check Out These Recommendations

Take a peek at the trailer for the Korean Drama My Dearest

And come back for the spoiler post on the ending of the Korean Drama My Dearest tomorrow!!

disclaim: none of the pictures and videos used in this post are mine. credits to the owners. click on them to get their links

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment