KDrama Review: Oh My Ghost

Title: Oh My Ghost, Oh My Ghostess

Episodes: 16

Genre: Fantasy, Ghosts, Mystery, Food, Romance, Comedy, Melodrama, Family, Cohabitation

Story: 8 out of 10

Characters: 8 out of 10

Cinematography: 8 out of 10

Korean Drama Oh My Ghost (2015) is a brilliant mixture of romance and mystery

Poster of the Korean Drama Oh My Ghost
Poster of the Korean Drama Oh My Ghost

Story

Bong Soon is a shy young woman who is dreaming of becoming a chef. She works alongside the famous, but cold, chef Seon Woo, and his team all consisted of men. Her pushover personality, however, will change when Sun Ae, a ghost running away from an exorcist, enters her body and starts living as Bong Soon.

Oh My Ghost is an entertaining mix of comedy, romance, food, and crime. The mystery is solid, with a lot of suspense and a melancholic feeling, as well as plenty of action scenes.

The comedy part, moreover, was just right, without overdoing it, but utilizing the fantasy part, with the ghost shifting mode, which was handled perfectly, especially by the leading lady who proved once again her acting talent.

As for the romance, it wasn’t the main concern of the plot, but it was still a nice touch and didn’t got too confusing with the two girls being the center of the moody chef’s attention. The second lead was fun as well.

The characters of the Korean Drama Oh My Ghost
The characters of the Korean Drama Oh My Ghost

Characters

Bang Sun is a wannabe chef who is working hard to make her dreams come true, though she isn’t very talented. She has a quiet personality that people tend to take advantage of.

Park Bo Young was amazing, switching personalities at whim.

Watch Park Bo Young in her other dramas KDrama Abyss and KDrama Doom at Your Service

Sun Ae is a ghost who is talented when it comes to food and she has a bright and dynamic personality, though she doesn’t remember her past life.

Kim Seul Gi was funny and sweet.

Watch Kim Seul Gi in her other works KDrama Find me in your memory and KDrama Hi Bye, Mama!

Seon Woo is a brilliant chef who has a cold personality. He is very strict and set in his ways.

Jo Jung Suk did a great job with his character.

Watch Jo Jung Suk in his other dramas K Drama Familiar Wife, KDrama Hospital Playlist 2, KDrama Hospital Playlist and KDrama «Jealousy Incarnate»

The characters of the Korean Drama Oh My Ghost
The characters of the Korean Drama Oh My Ghost

Cinematography

The drama handles all the plots excellently, especially the ghost part.

Overall

My overall rating for the Korean Drama Oh My Ghost is 8.5 out of 10. The drama mixes romance, comedy, paranormal, and mystery in a delightful way.

Want more like Oh My Ghost? Then take a look at these dramas

Take a peek at the trailer of the Korean Drama Oh My Ghost

disclaim: none of the pictures and videos used in this post are mine. credits to the owners. click on them to get their links