KDrama Review: May I Help You

Title: Mai I Help You, 100 Won Butler

Episodes: 16

Genre: Comedy, Romance, Fantasy, Drama, Youth, Mystery, Family

Story: 5 out of 10

Characters: 5 out of 10

Cinematography: 6 out of 10

Korean Drama May I Help You has an original plot, but a bad execution

Poster of the Korean Drama May I Help You
Poster of the Korean Drama May I Help You

Story

Dong Joo works at a funeral parlor, where she discovers that she has the ability to talk to the dead in order to grant them their wishes, or else a series of misfortunes will follow. And, by luck, she keeps running into the guy who was hired by her boyfriend to break up with her.

Korean Drama May I Help You is a romantic comedy with a fantasy twist.

And even though the ghost stories are interesting and heartwarming, the main romance is boring.

The drama uses a lot of trops to support its love story, which didn’t play in its favor. Thus, the drama got predictable and cringy.

The mystery of the ghost child was okay at first, furthermore, however, it got repetitive and overused. Thus, the drama, which supported the whole second half on that case, often got tiring to watch.

Also, the whole melodrama surrounding the stories of the characters turned them into self-proclaimed victims.

The characters of the Korean Drama May I Help You
The characters of the Korean Drama May I Help You

Characters

Dong Joo is a hard-working young woman. She used to be a ping pong athlete, but now she is striving to make 24 wishes come true in order to get her ordinary life back.

Hyeri gave a light tone to her character.

Watch Hyeri in her other dramas as well K Drama Reply 1988 (The Reply Series), KDrama Moonshine, KDrama Miss Lee, and KDrama My Roommate is a Gumiho

Tae Hee is a man hired to do any task legally possible. He is a kind man who keeps to himself.

Lee Jun Young gave an emotional performance, but his character was predictable.

Watch Lee Jun Young’s other works KDrama Let Me Be Your Knight, KDrama D.P., KDrama Please Don’t Date Him, KDrama Imitation, and KDrama Class of lies

The main characters of the Korean Drama May I Help You
The main characters of the Korean Drama May I Help You

Cinematography

The drama had a messy pace and they handled their timelines horribly, confusing the story.

Overall

My overall rating for the Korean Drama May I Help You is 3 out of 10. The drama has some cute moments, but, in the end, it was tedious and messy.

Also, Check Out These Recommendations

Take a peek at the trailer for the Korean Drama May I Help You

disclaim: none of the pictures and videos used in this post are mine. credits to the owners. click on them to get their links

1 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment